Weblog of Nazly Ahmed

Nazly Ahmed

Nazly Ahmed

Web Developer. PHP Addict. Wordpress Hacker. FOSS Enthusiast. (Micro)Blogger. Photo Hobbyist. Cricket Fanatic. Husband. Dad.

Australia have become the World Champions third time in a row after beating Sri Lanka in the Final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 which was played at the Kensington Oval, Barbados. After the rain delay the game was restricted to 38 overs. Australia won the toss and decided to bat first. Ruthless Adam Gilchrist didn't waste any time as he thrashed the Sri Lankan bowlers all around the park. He scored his century in just 72 balls. He ended up scoring 149 in just 104 balls. His innings included 8 sixes and 13 fours. Australia ended up scoring 281 in their alloted 38 overs losing 4 wickets.

Sri Lanka in reply lost the wicket of Upul Tharanga when the score was on 7. Jayasuriya and Sangakkara got Sri Lanka to a good position adding a quick 116 run partnership for the second wicket. But losing Sangakkara and Jayasuriya let Sri Lanka hopes down of winning the World Cup. The target was revised to 269 in 36 overs due to rain. After few incidents based on bad light, Sri Lanka managed to get only 215 for the loss of 8 wickets in 36 overs. Adam Gilchrist was named the Man of the Match and Aussie paceman Glenn McGrath was awarded Man of the Series for his 26 wickets.

So that was the end of a long World Cup. Aussies stood unbeaten throughout this World Cup and that was their simple formula to remain as World Champions for the third time. Sri Lanka on the other hand put up a great performance during this World Cup. But Aussies were too good for them at the end.

Posted on 29th April 2007 16:04:53